







MEDIA RELEASE

Tuesday 6 December 2016

Paul Hogan to be awarded Australia's highest screen accolade

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today announced Australian screen icon **Paul Hogan AM** as this year's recipient of the prestigious **AACTA Longford Lyell Award**.

First presented in 1968, the Longford Lyell Award honours Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford and his partner in filmmaking and life, Lottie Lyell. The Award is the highest honour that the Australian Academy can bestow upon an individual and recognises a person who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia's screen environment and culture.

In honour of his outstanding contribution to the Australian screen industry, the Longford Lyell Award will be presented to Paul Hogan at the 6th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel in Sydney on Wednesday 7 December 2016, televised on Channel 7 at 8.30pm.

The presentation will celebrate and honour Paul's 45 year career, and will feature tributes from **Shane Jacobson**, **Michael Caton**, former Tourism Minister **John Brown**, **Peter Faiman**, **Dave Hughes**, **Adam Hills**, **Ernie Dingo** and **THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW** co-star **Delvene Delaney**.

HONOURING PAUL HOGAN

Paul Hogan's career began when he was working as a rigger on the Sydney Harbour Bridge and, on a dare, auditioned on talent contest **NEW FACES**. Following a recurring role on **A CURRENT AFFAIR** in the early 1970's, **THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW** was born – a hugely popular sketch comedy program which he produced, co-wrote and starred in from 1973 to 1984.

He became well known internationally for his work on commercials in the 1980's, including British advertisements for Foster's Lager and his unparalleled 'Come and say G'Day' campaign with the Australian Tourist Commission, which sky-rocketed Australia to a must-see destination and which coined the iconic phrase "I'll slip an extra shrimp on the barbie for you."

In 1985, Paul was awarded Australian of the Year and inducted into the Order of Australia for service to tourism and entertainment. That same year, Paul starred as WWI digger Pat Cleary in the acclaimed Mini Series ANZACs, alongside Andrew Clarke, Vivean Gray, Ilona Rodgers, Tony Bonner, Megan Williams and Bill Kerr. ANZACs series writer John Dixon described how Paul's public image embodied the qualities that made Australian soldiers so different and successful during WWI.

In 1986 Paul wrote and starred in his first feature film – **CROCODILE DUNDEE**. The film launched Paul's international career, earning him a Golden Globe Award for Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical, and earning him an Oscar nomination for Best Original Screen Play and multiple BAFTA nominations. **CROCODILE DUNDEE** remains the number one Australian film of all time at the Australian box office.

The following year, Paul became the first Australian to host the Oscars – co-hosting the 59th Academy Awards with **Chevy Chase** and **Goldie Hawn**. He infamously hosted the Ceremony without a script or rehearsal.

CROCODILE DUNDEE spawned two sequels: **CROCODILE DUNDEE II**, which is also in the top ten Australian films of all time at the Australian box office, and **CROCODILE DUNDEE IN LOS ANGELES**.

An actor, producer and writer, Paul is a beloved Australian icon whose work has truly enriched Australian screen culture over the past five decades.

Of receiving the honour, Paul Hogan AM said:

"I'm honoured to be receiving such a wonderful award and am looking forward to catching up with many colleagues on the evening."

AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said:

"Paul Hogan needs no introduction – he created one of Australia's most successful television shows and then the biggest Australian film of all time, he drove an unparalleled Australian tourism campaign throughout the 1980's and has long been an incredible ambassador for Australia and our screen industry.

"It's fitting that we honour Paul this year, 30 years since he became an international Australian icon in *Crocodile Dundee*.

"On behalf of AFI | AACTA, it is my pleasure to congratulate Paul Hogan, and I look forward to seeing him honoured at the 6th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel this Wednesday."

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

NSW Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events Stuart Ayres said:

"From his early beginnings working on the Sydney Harbour Bridge to the iconic tourism campaigns that beamed Sydney Harbour and Australia around the world, it's fitting that Paul Hogan receives this prestigious accolade at the AACTA Awards in Sydney. Receiving the Longford Lyell Award is recognition of his stellar screen career and I congratulate him on this accolade."

- ENDS -

6TH AACTA AWARDS CEREMONY PRESENTED BY FOXTEL

The 6th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel will be held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney on Wednesday 7 December, televised on Channel 7 at 8.30pm with an encore screening on Foxtel.

PAUL HOGAN AWARDS AND HONOURS

1973

George Wallace Memorial Logie Award for Best New Talent

1975

Logie Award for Best TV Comedian (THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW)

1978

Logie Award for Best Comedy Performer (THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW)

1985

Australian of the Year

1986

Inducted into the Order of Australia (AM) 'for service to tourism and entertainment'

1987

Golden Globe Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Comedy or Musical (CROCODILE DUNDEE)

Inducted into the Logie Hall of Fame

Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay (CROCODILE DUNDEE) – Nominated BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay - Original (CROCODILE DUNDEE) – Nominated BAFTA Award for Best Actor (CROCODILE DUNDEE) – Nominated Saturn Award for Best Writing (CROCODILE DUNDEE) – Nominated

AACTA LONGFORD LYELL AWARD

The first AFI Raymond Longford Award was presented to Ian Dunlop in 1968.

Originally known as the AFI | AACTA Raymond Longford Award, in honour of Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford, the name of the Award was changed in 2015, following industry consultation, in recognition of Raymond Longford's partner in filmmaking and life, Lottie Lyell.

Many icons of the Australian screen industry have been bestowed the AFI Raymond Longford Award, including **Peter Weir**, **Geoffrey Rush**, **Fred Schepisi**, **Jan Chapman**, **David Stratton** and many more.

Following the launch of AACTA in 2011, three AACTA Raymond Longford Awards have been presented: cinematographer **Don McAlpine** was awarded at the inaugural AACTA Awards; producer **AI Clark** was awarded at the 2nd AACTA Awards; and actress **Jacki Weaver** was awarded at the 3rd AACTA Awards. Since the Award was renamed in 2015, there have been two recipients of the AACTA Longford Lyell Award: writer and producer **Andrew Knight** at the 4th AACTA Awards; and actress **Cate Blanchett** at the 5th AACTA Awards.

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

Official hashtag: #AACTAs Facebook: /AACTAawards

Twitter: @aacta Instagram: @aacta

MEDIA ENQUIRIES

Nikstar | Niki White, P: +61 (0) 403 176 988, E: niki@nikstar.com.au

AFI | AACTA | Michelle Berg, P: +61 (03) 9695 7222, E: mberg@afi.org.au

For further information about AFI | AACTA visit: www.aacta.org

FOXTEL

STRATEGIC PARTNERS







DESTINATION PARTNER

THE STAR

TELECAST PARTNER



MAJOR GOVERNMENT SPONSOR





MAJOR PARTNERS







OFFICIAL PARTNERS































EVENT AND PRODUCTION PARTNERS



